NATIONAL NEWS – Warranties?


What Did I Miss Here?

WASHINGTON – The Warranty Commitment Program unveiled by Obama on March 31st leaves me wondering what the hell.

“If you buy a car from Chrysler or General Motors, you will be able to get your car serviced and repaired, just like always,” Obama pledged Monday. “Your warranty will be safe. In fact, it will be safer than it’s ever been. Because starting today, the United States government will stand behind your warranty.”

When did Automobile Warranties become a matter of Presidential Concern? I was unaware of the Warranty Crisis. Suddenly those phone calls I keep getting warning me about my warranty’s tenuous hold on life seem rather sinister. But, seriously, why is the Government in the Warranty business? Why is Obama guaranteeing warranties?

Let’s see, the President’s job is

  1. Uphold the Constitution
  2. Defend our borders
  3. Receive foreign visitors

Hmmm. I’m not seeing the “Guarantee private business warranties” provision there in the Constitution. What is driving this? I’m not exactly sure I want the US Government standing behind my GM warranty. This makes me very uncomfortable. I’m not seeing the warranty emergency. I’m not grasping the justification for my tax dollars to pay for GM and Chrysler warranties.

Folks this is getting Orwellian. Let’s say I don’t have a GM or Chrysler car, but you do. Why do my tax dollars guarantee your warranty? Is this even in fact legal? How many steps more to simple Government Ownership of Private Enterprise? No, seriously. Look down the road a bit. What the hell is going on here?

3 responses to “NATIONAL NEWS – Warranties?

  1. Frater, I think your problem in understanding these things is simply a matter of perspective. Allow me to explain…

    The Constitution is a “living document”, this means it can be reinterpreted to mean different things at different times – not tied down by “rules” but free to express its good intentions! If the Constitution is “living”, then it’s just like a person! It can change its mind or even be downright moody. I think the Constitution is most happy when it can make us be generous with your money, and helpful whether you want it or not, and most of all be tolerant and non-judgmental.

    And if you don’t agree I guess that just makes you a narrow minded bigot

  2. Ah. It’s all so clear. Thanks Big Brother! I love you man!

  3. Pingback: President Barry – “Oh, The Humanity!” | The Global Exclaimer

Leave a Reply

