CIGAR NOTES – Sancho Panza

 

WHAT I’M SMOKING RIGHT THEN (Blogging makes for tense tense renderings – I could say Now, but that would not be accurate – wait! It could be! Hahaha) WHAT I’M SMOKING RIGHT THEN NOW!

(CARROLLTON) – A Sancho Panza Glorioso. These little delights are made in Honduras and are a box pressed parejo. They are 6.5 inches long with a ring gauge of 50. I usually prefer a maduro wrapper, but these, at 10 for 29.95 were too affordable to pass up. This medium strength cigar with a light brown Connecticut Shade wrapper lit well, drew well, produced a nice volume of smoke and well, was just good. The binder is

A smoke ring from the Glorioso - via my Blackberry

Connecticut Broadleaf and the filler may hail from the Dominican Republic, Honduras or Nicaragua. With cigar prices being what they are, I hesitate to tell anyone about these, because if they get popular then the price goes up. But, Sancho Panza has become a staple in my humidor. My only complaint about the Glorioso is that if you spent too much time talking between puffs, it would go out.

My daughter and son-in-law came over with the two grandchildren. It’d been about a month since I’d seen them. Nathan is a firefighter in Waxahachie and one of my primary smoking buddies. They had been here for about 10 minutes when we went out back and lit up for a relaxing smoke and chat.

WHAT WE WERE TALKING ABOUT RIGHT THEN

We talked about the fact he had graduated from EMT school as Valedictorian, and the stress and strain of his ride-outs. He is currently at the busiest Irving fire department, and so is getting all kinds of experience. I have to say I am very impressed by his efforts, and by the training our emergency response professionals receive. We are truly lucky to have such well-trained and dedicated men and women out there when we need them.
Nathan is also going through RCIA and will be a fresh Catholic this Easter. Meanwhile, the ward of Stately Glob Manor, Lanier, age 15, is also doing that this year at our church. So we talked a bit about how we couldn’t be in two places at the same time. I can’t really express how happy we are that Nathan has made this decision. Last Easter my daughter surprised us all by inviting us to her Easter Vigil at St. Micheal’s in Garland, TX, and so now the whole family will be in the Church.

Nathan asked me what I gave up for Lent. This sparked an interesting conversation about the whole point of all that, and he told me that he had given up judging people. “Wow,” I thought to myself. That would be quite a challenge. And I’ve let my cigar go out while typing. One moment please… there. That’s good, but I will have to be careful. Cigars don’t respond well to being ignored.

Nathan commented about the whole “giving up thing.” As in, using Lent to do things that really are just a benefit to you, e.g. going on a diet or something. Then, Coco the Wonder Dog ran out the door and nearly knocked Grandson Jonathon in the pool, and we lost our train of thought.

WHAT WE WERE DRINKING RIGHT THEN

The Empty Bottle of MaCallan - Yes, we did hear bagpipes playing Amazing Grace

The Macallan, 12 years old, a Christmas Present from Nathan. It seemed fitting to finish it off with him. There were about two drinks a piece left in there, more than enough to get us through the cigars, the talking, and the cooking of the fajitas. Well, OK, we did have to go into his Bacardi dark rum.

We then kind of picked up where we left off, talking about the looks you get when  you have ashes on your head, and the fact that many Protestants seem to think Catholics aren’t Christians. As I told Nathan during our conversation, “I don’t even know where to start” when addressing someone who thinks you worship the Pope and not Jesus the Christ.

I suppose that’s part of what makes the world go ’round. All in all, it was a very enjoyable afternoon.

 

3 responses to “CIGAR NOTES – Sancho Panza

  1. Pingback: $20 for $40 Worth of Cigars and Drinks at The Napoleon Club in Scottsdale - Daily Couponds

  2. Elaine Connolly

    Hmmm,
    Ashes on the forehead – sounds like a pretty pagan ritual to me. A very ancient ritual, mind you. Last I saw this was on the face of some Hindis, here in Sillycon Valley.

  3. If by pagan you mean ancient, then yes indeed, the practice of putting dust or ashes on your head goes back a long long way. If you stand outside a Catholic church on Ash Wednesday, you will see some decidedly non-Hindis with ashes.

Leave a Reply

