HOME MADE INCENDIARY DEVICE THROWN IN MONTANA

Who it is Thrown at Apparently Determines if it is Newsworthy, or even Police Worthy.

Who Cares if a Molotov Cocktail is Thrown at Peaceful Demonstrators? Not the Police of Kalispell, Montana.

(KALISPELL, Montana) – March 17th During a 40 Days for Life Prayer Vigil outside the All Family Health Care abortuary in Kalispell, an incendiary device was thrown at an elderly woman as she walked on the public sidewalk near the center. According to the Spokane Examiner.com,

the police officer on the scene said “the 40 Days prayer vigil participants should expect this kind of reaction if they’re out there protesting,”

Apparently the right to peaceable assembly includes the right of others that disagree with you to try to set you on fire. Imagine for a moment the headline if the Molotov cocktail styled device had been thrown at the abortion center. I’m sure you would have heard about it from someplace other than The Global Exclaimer. Ψ

7 responses to “HOME MADE INCENDIARY DEVICE THROWN IN MONTANA

  1. Sorry to jump in, but I’ve yet to hear of any “pro-life” protesters murdered or their halls bombed. And I would not be surprised if the device was actually planted by the protesters or a fringe group supporting them. The incidence of violence in this issue is overwhelmingly on the “pro-life” side. Let’s be fair.

  2. @ Tony – you jump to an amazing conclusion with absolutely nothing to support it – that the device was planted. And are you saying in light of the fact violence has taken place against abortion clinics and doctors that it is OK for violence to take place against people peacefully protesting who have nothing to do with the violence of fringe elements? I have not read anywhere that a bombing or shooting at an abortion clinic was simply brushed off by the police as something to be expected given the fact of what they are doing. Let’s be fair? What is unfair about reporting the simple fact that someone threw an incendiary device at people doing what our Constitution guarantees as a right, and the police just completely blowing off the event? All acts of violence against abortion doctors and clinics has been condemned by both sides of this issue. What do you mean “Let’s be fair?” Is violence ever fair?

  3. Lest you think that pro-lifers are happy about murder, here is a quote from Troy Newman, president of Operation Rescue, on the news of the conviction of the murderer of Dr. Tiller in his church.

    “Newman also insisted that the murder of Dr. Tiller “does not comport in any way shape or form with the pro-life movement commitment in extending life and liberty to every individual nor does it comport with the age-old, 2,000 year old Christian ethic of laying down our lives for our brothers and sisters.”

    “This really falls outside the realm of Christianity and the pro life ethos,” he stressed.

    Here is an excerpt from a blogger on a blog called “Defend the Faith”:

    How are members of the Pro-Life movement responding to the murder of late-term abortionist Dr. George Tiller? Our response first and foremost, is and has clearly been to condemn in no uncertain terms the murder of Dr. Tiller. All Pro-Life groups have condemned the murder, declared it unjustified and senseless, and expressed sympathy to the Tiller family and regret that George Tiller was denied the time to repent.

    Though Pro-Lifers found what Dr. Tiller did – late term and third trimester abortions, repulsive, U.S. Law allowed him this license. While Pro-Lifers are unanimous in our condemnation of his murder, a murder committed by a schizophrenic and delusional unemployed drifter, we also recognize that Dr. Tiller’s murder will be used [in] an attempt to shut up the Pro-Life movement.

    Meanwhile, if I may take your comment as representative of a liberal and/or progressive view on violence against pro-life people, it appears to be, “So what. It probably didn’t happen.”

    Frankly, your apparent support of the idea of the police simply ignoring attempted violence against groups of people that aren’t accepted by mainstream society surprises me.

  4. Hi FB – I wasn’t getting the e-mails notifying of follow-ups, so that’s why I had not followed up, until I remembered to check tonight.

    “@ Tony – you jump to an amazing conclusion with absolutely nothing to support it – that the device was planted. ”
    I didn’t jump to conclusions – I merely said that I would not be surprised if the device was planted. I believe that since the incidence of violence perpetrated by pro-choicers is negligible in comparison, there might be some elements in the anti-abortion movement who would do that in order to get publicity and sympathy. The reason I thought that was because I had not ever heard of any violence against pro-lifers. But tonight I did a little searching [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pro-life#Violence] and found that there has been some, so “negligible” is too extreme a word. Nevertheless, the amount and type documented at that source still pales in comparison to the violence against pro-choicers; one shooting, a couple of threats, and lots of profanity. And to touch on the other issue, you are correct that there has been poor coverage of violence against pro-lifers, my ignorance of it is evidence.

    The night I read this I went to the web to look for coverage and there was not much from MSM sources, mostly blogs and obviously biased sources. But if the actions of the police are as described, I agree that there is grounds for grievance.

    “And are you saying in light of the fact violence has taken place against abortion clinics and doctors that it is OK for violence to take place against people peacefully protesting who have nothing to do with the violence of fringe elements?”
    Of course not – I am not crazy. I could say you jumped to a conclusion with that.

    From the original article: “Imagine for a moment the headline if the Molotov cocktail styled device had been thrown at the abortion center. I’m sure you would have heard about it from someplace other than The Global Exclaimer.”
    This is the line that made me respond. I was OK with the article so far, and I know this is an opinion piece, and I responded. But besides the great possibility that such small violence incidents against pro-choicers have occurred and have been ignored for coverage as well, what you are saying is that violence against pro-lifers is systematically ignored except in the Glob and that if against pro-choicers it is automatically given great coverage. I don’t think it’s a good comparison because the incidence is not 50-50. But again, the incidence of violence against pro-choicers far surpasses the occasional opposite, and with a history of major violence behind it, the pro-life movement is being watched carefully, as it should be. If the pro-choice movement would begin to generate major violence on a regular basis, I know that even the MSM would give that more coverage, and rightfully so.
    The thing is that in America these days there is a current of anger on the right that too often expresses itself in violence. Yes, there is some on the left as well, but again the comparison is revealing of how much more propensity for violence exists on the right. And political action through violence the beginning of the unraveling of democracy and civil society, so it must be watched and confronted.

    The disclaimers you posted later all try to exonerate the pro-life organizations, and of course they would issue such statements. But the fringe elements which have been whipped up to commit insane acts by resources made available by them operate in an unofficial capacity as “the enforcers”, and there are many in the pro-life movement who secretly support the violence. See http://www.google.com/search?client=opera&rls=en&q=wanted+posters+abortion+providers&sourceid=opera&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&channel=suggest

    “Meanwhile, if I may take your comment as representative of a liberal and/or progressive view on violence against pro-life people, it appears to be, “So what. It probably didn’t happen.””
    I don’t see how you came to that sweeping conclusion. I certainly don’t profess violence, or the suppression of free speech. I am a liberal, after all – it comes with the territory. The attitude you read in my words is probably more directed at the “we’re the real victims” attitude I read in your ending.

    So, to reiterate, I do not condone violence from any side, I do not agree with the reported reactions of the police, and I believe that elements associated with the pro-life movement are dangerous to our society and their violent actions need to be confronted forcefully, and I further believe that pro-life organizations are not doing enough to rein in these kooks who not only harm others but harm the reputation of everyone on that side of the issue.

    I hope that I clarified my post and brought some new information to you.

  5. It does, and thanks. Re: new information – I’m not sure if you mean the information that there exists some coverage of violence against pro-life adherents, or the information regarding “many in the pro-life movement who secretly support the violence”. I followed the link you provided which mostly concerned the guy posting Wanted posters of prominent abortionists. I saw no evidence of secret support in any of the links I followed. I also followed some links that talked about shouting, violence, attempts to prevent doctors from entering the parking lots etc. I am having a hard time believing any of that since a simple call to the police would prevent such activity. I have heard those allegations over and over.

    I have stood in front of an abortion clinic “protesting” with about 20 other people. We held up signs and stood silently and prayed. The signs said things like “Fathers miss their aborted children” and “I regret my abortion.” We did not point, gesture, shout, obstruct, etc. My personal experience with the pro-life movement is so different from what I see reported that I have to wonder.

    But, the point of my post was simply this: An incendiary device was thrown at a person walking on the sidewalk, and the police completely ignored it. And the officer responding told them to expect it.

    And, if an incendiary device had been thrown at the abortion center, I am certain the police would not have blown it off. And I am certain it would have been on the news.

    Pro-lifers are counter-cultural and therefore marginalized by mainstream society. Ψ

  6. I hope there is not a pattern of the police acting that way when the violence is against the pro-lifers. I see this one as an isolated incident and not a trend.
    But since violence is usually against pro-choicers and it has led to murders and bombings, it makes sense that when a match is lit in a dry wheat field it will get more attention than if lit on a sand dune.
    If I was involved in a controversial political movement which believed in furthering it’s goals in non-violent actions and there were others on the same side of my cause who committed violent acts, I would be working towards alienating that violent bunch harder than if I was on the receiving end of their violence. It would do my cause harm to continue to be seen as tacitly supporting, or at the least looking the other way, when their actions are done in the spirit of “the end justifies the means”. And this is what has made my position against the pro-life movement more hardened.
    The information I had hoped to bring to your knowledge was about my attitude, which is the attitude of the majority of those on this side of the issue.

    • I liked this observation: when a match is lit in a dry wheat field it will get more attention than if lit on a sand dune.

      I will say this: one way to help prevent an increase in violent behavior is to call attention to it early, and denounce it.

      I hope to God there is not another shooting or bombing by “pro-lifers” but if there is, I will certainly cover it.

      Thanks for the comments!

Leave a Reply

