Grotesk


Sounds like a Font made for April Fools Day, doesn’t it. And maybe it is, but according to the Wikipedia folks, that is the original name of HELVETICA. And I guess “font” is really inaccurate – I believe we are talking about typefaces here.
HOWEVER – in WordPress, if you try to use Helvetica, you get Arial. I want Helvetica, but apparently I can’t have it. So, I’m having a type-off. I would like to know:

  1. What is your preferred typeface/font?
  2. Do you prefer Arial or Verdana in the samples below?
This is a test of the emergency Arial system comparison to Verdana.
This is a test of the emergency Arial system comparison to Verdana.
(The first line is Arial, the second is Verdana)
A comparison between the fonts Helvetica and A...

Image via Wikipedia

Hmmm. I want Helvetica to be my new default font. But looks like my preference is:

Verdana! I haven’t paid for the css upgrade, so default is a misnomer. I have to set a division and tell it “verdana” and set the font size.

I think the default typeface for this theme is Times New Roman, but I’m not sure. This is a serif font, while

Verdana is a sans-serif font. I learned while printing my paper that serif typefaces are easier to read when you are holding a paper, but sans-serif typefaces make for an easier computer read. So there. Or, at least that’s what I think. What do YOU thing? I mean think.

Ψ

Leave a Reply

