Celebrating? Are You Serious?


Celebrating what exactly?

(WASHINGTON DC) – I am dismayed and so this is something of an angry post. I guess the best way to make my point is with pictures:

People Happy Because Americans Were Killed on 9/11

This is a picture of people celebrating. What are they celebrating? They are celebrating the killing of Americans. These people are very happy at the sight of people dying. They are elated – their joy can hardly be contained. This type of celebration is disordered and sick-minded.

What is being celebrated? Justice? Or blood-lust?

Here we have another picture:

People Happy Because a Muslim Was Reported Killed

This is a picture of people celebrating. What are they celebrating? They are celebrating the killing of a Muslim. These people are very happy at the thought of a person being dead. They are elated – their joy can hardly be contained. This type of celebration is disordered and sick-minded.

What is being celebrated? Justice? Or blood-lust?

Here we have another picture:

People Happy Because Americans Are No Longer Being Killed, Nor Are They Killing

This is a picture of people celebrating. What are they celebrating? They are celebrating the end of hostilities in WWII. They are celebrating the end of killing. They are celebrating victory. These people are very happy at the thought of their loved ones coming home alive. They are elated – their joy can hardly be contained. This type of celebration is coherent and logical and the sign of a healthy mind.

What is being celebrated? Peace.

If you can’t understand the difference between the first two celebrations and the last one, then Listen up America, and pull your heads out: You don’t win a war by becoming your enemy.

Ψ

9 responses to “Celebrating? Are You Serious?

  1. Yup, yup, yup.

    I think you pretty well covered it.

  2. I know that people react to extraordinary circumstances in their own way, but my way aligns right here with yours. Thanks for posting.

  3. I didn’t lose someone in the 9/11 attacks, so I can’t claim to comprehend what it feels like to have the perpetrator of those attacks gone. If Osama Bin Laden’s death brings the victims’ families some kind of solace, then I am glad for that. If his death brings us one step closer to bringing our troops home to their families, then I am ecstatic. But like you, I don’t think I’ll ever understand rejoicing or celebrating someone’s death.

  4. Julian Eaugh

    I exactly had the same thought on my mind when I saw young American kids celebrating on the street and chanting ‘USA’. It overlapped with those radical and fundamental muslims who were celebrating 9/11.

  5. Our government tortures suspects, kills without trials and we celebrate that.
    What’s the difference between us and them?

  6. I will just comment that rules of engagement in war and US Constitutionally guaranteed rights are things that only marginally overlap, if ever where non-US citizens are involved. People are summarily killed in running gun battles during war, and there is no trial, etc. War against another nation or group cannot be conflated with how we govern our own. How government act during war really hasn’t changed much over the centuries. How the populace responds to the necessities of war, I think that was the point of this post.

  7. I confess that when the news first came through, my imagination was so effective I could see the murder of the criminal bin Laden in graphic detail, including smells of fear and blood and ammo, bitter emotional glances, the texture of the fabric on the bed there, and though I always thought I hated bin Laden’s guts, the brutal truth of the action made me cry. Yes, I erupted in tears. Theoretically, I know he had to go. I feel a minor relief at his demise. But I felt sickened, absolutely horrified, as if my innocence was meeting the first ever violation of it’s life. It was so TANGIBLE. A HUMAN, dying by violence. No escape for the loser – the desperate awareness he must have had at the end. I did consider that my response was touched by realization of all the millions of humans who have died in war throughout history. The magnitude of the loss is overwhelming – but no, I’ve wept over that in the past. I can still be shaken by it all, but this news story made me aware of an unexpected tenderness in myself, a simple wish that people would just never , ever do that to each-other! Then for about a minute I thought maybe something was wrong with me because I felt positively weakened, instead of celebratory. Finally, I accepted my feelings of deep sadness for another death, and asked god to take his soul, and I understood that I had experienced both sides of the truth without going nuts… Thanks for your comments, and for this opportunity to share.

  8. What a great web log. I spend hours on the net reading blogs, about tons of various subjects. I have to first of all give praise to whoever created your theme and second of all to you for writing what i can only describe as an fabulous article. I honestly believe there is a skill to writing articles that only very few posses and honestly you got it. The combining of demonstrative and upper-class content is by all odds super rare with the astronomic amount of blogs on the cyberspace.

Leave a Reply

