Yes Sir may I have another?!?


Constitution for Idiots #9

By Gary McCoy
Writer The Global Exclaimer

I want to apologize in advance for the shortness of this post on my analysis of the amendments but:

“Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.”

UM DUH… Well I don’t want to be too short so let’s discuss this some more. *In all fairness I have done a little bit of why the framers would have wanted this in our Constitution*.  It seems that previous kings in England had a nasty reputation of taking people arrested and convicted, forcing them to pay incredibly inappropriate sums of money or land, and also subjecting them to humiliating and often horrible torture. I guess that too would make me think twice about rights I would have should I be imprisoned.

2 responses to “Yes Sir may I have another?!?

  1. I think they wanted to be sure the bail fit the crime, which was not the case so often historically. This also prevents the LOCALs from setting up a racket and from punishing their local enemies, and also sets up the opportunity for appeal on this point.

  2. Elaine,

    That is correct. The British at that time (specifically the king) was very horrible to “enemies of the state” and would keep them for years without a trial and torture them and make them walk through the streets in shackles.

    I had not heard about appeals yet but I assume we will come across that during the amendments spelling out the rights of the Judicial.

    Thanks for the great comment.

Leave a Reply

